Femcee Madness: The Finalé

(8) Noname vs. (1) Ms. Lauryn Hill

This took a while, but we have finally arrived that the championship match between a classic and fresh femcee. Representing the veterans’ side of the brackets, Lauryn Hill was not only the #1 seed, she has consistently been the top choice for winning this tournament. She goes up against Noname, who is not only one of the freshest Femcees in the brackets (she’s a strong contender for XXL’s Freshmen Class this year), she happens to be a massive L Boogie fan. It could even be argued that The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill is an intentional theme of Noname’s debut LP, Telefone. So I’m not going to try and hide the fact that I think Hill will (and should) win this. The truth is that I also think Nicki should have won the semi-final match, but when I logged in to close the polls I was surprised to see it was tied. After leaving the polls open for an extra 12 hours and shouting out to the Twitterverse, Fatimah Warner aka Noname won by a solid couple of votes.

However, I am pretty stoked that the Noname fans have shown up for this competition in such a big way. She is easily one of my favourite recording artists at the moment, and if she keeps up with her streak, I could see myself saying her name in relation to a G.O.A.T. conversation. I’m just not quite there yet. But clearly I am in the minority here, so who knows what could happen in this final poll! Ms. Hill may be the favourite to win, but she has also endured a lot of criticism over the last decade, and this is a tournament of surprises.

Hopefully by now you are fairly acquainted with the two finalists singles, so for the embedded videos this round, I’ve picked slightly extended performances. Bask in the glory that is fantastic female-led hip hop, folks. Because ultimately what matters is not the winner, or the final four, or even your votes, but the celebration of hip hop, and women who use a genre to tell their own stories.

Thank you all so much for participating and humouring my project. Time to vote for your winner of Femcee Madness – have fun!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

