Old New Borrowed Blue #8

Happy Monday!  And happy birthday, Donnie Wahlberg!  Let’s take a quick look at how far he’s come…DonnieMulletDonnieNow

Something Old:  You guessed it – I’d like us to watch one of the more flattering videos that Donnie made with NKOTB.  He may have a mullet, but the ripped jeans and hat make him the coolest cat in the crew, amirite?

Something New:  I can’t remember who first shared this on twitter, but I am in their debt.  Eryn Allen Kane hails from Chicago and has worked with plenty of local talent like the Social Experiment and BJ the Chicago, but here she is with her own track and I cannot get enough of it.

Something Borrowed:  Kanye West’s opening track off of Graduation is one of my favourite Monday songs.  I guess that I find it kicks off a week as well as it kicks off an album or a day.  One of the many reasons I love this track is for the Elton John sample that creates the optimistic, anything-is-possible sounding hook.  Who knew that Elton and Kanye would make such a beautiful pairing?  #Eltye4eva

Screen Shot 2015-08-15 at 12.30.31 PM

Something Blue:  I am in a far more hopeful state of mind than a lot of blues music will allow me, but I am certainly on a protest-song kick right now.  I get so stoked for music that can move people to make change, and it seems there is a lot of that going around lately.  Anyway, here is a classic protest blues from the smooth Sam Cooke.

Hope these help to get you at least through hump-day.  I’ll be back Thursday with another Old New Borrowed Blue – see you then!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

