Old New Borrowed Blue #7

Is it just me, or does it seem that suddenly everyone is far more aware that the end of summer is near?  We have more than two weeks left until September begins, most students are back in class, and “the fall” officially kicks off a new season, and yet everyone I talk to is rather suddenly aware that the end is nigh.  I for one am attempting to live in the moment of these last summer days, not only because I’m not going back to school, but because I don’t want to think about what comes next.

With that in mind, here’s what I’ve been listening to this week…

Something Old: “The Bridge” is the title track from the very first record that my redhead bought me, Sonny Rollins 1962 album, The Bridge.  One of these days I will have to write about the whole album, because it’s possibly one of the most underrated jazz classics ever recorded.  For now, this one track captures some of the urgency and busy-ness of the summer, trying to hurry to not miss anything, while still finding moments to appreciate the beauty around us.  This video is chopped off at the beginning, but I figured posting a live performance of one of the world’s greatest improvisors might be a good idea.

Something New:  My favourite thing about Toronto in the summer (so far) is free festivals and music, and right now thanks to the PanAm and ParaPanAm games, there are some especially fantastic free shows available as long as your willing to stand in a crowded square for a couple of hours.  This weekend I had the pleasure of seeing two of my favourite live acts right now, The Roots and Janelle Monaé!  Monaé’s Wondaland collective is set to release a compilation EP tomorrow, so consider this my plug, and don’t be surprised if I share another song or two from The Eephus in the future.  For now, here is the video for “Yoga”, the infectious dance track that had all of Nathan Phillips Square grooving and singing along.

Something Borrowed:  Apparently there is a loose jazz theme running through today’s post, since I feel like sharing the 90’s R&B “Rain”, in which SWV directly borrows their melody from Jaco Pastorius’s theme from “Portrait of Tracy”.  The melodical bass solo has been used in a number of hip hop tracks, but likely the trend began with Ghetto Children’s “Who’s Listening?”.  So you might want to check that out too.

Screen Shot 2015-08-13 at 4.32.12 PM

Something Blue:  Yep, I agree that it’s a little ironic to have a lesbian list a song called “I Need a Man to Love” as one of her favourite blues tracks, but it just is.  I love how Janis Joplin sounds both incredibly cool and desperate at the same time.  I just wish I could find a decent video of her performing it as well.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

