Old New Borrowed Blue #5

This past Tuesday I went to Sonic Boom, a local Toronto based Record Store, and the vinyl I bought has been fairly indicative of what I’ve been listening since.  So this blog might seem fairly random, but it’s organized to me.

Something Old: “Dress You Up” was my theme song of the week.  Although it was hot, and I hardly wanted to dress up in anything, our niece was here, and I found myself routinely singing this with her, whether when she was getting dressed (gonna dress you up in diapers) or getting sun-screened before heading to the splash parks (all o-ver your bo-dy).  Then, the day her family flew back home, I bought Like A Virgin – the album “Dress You Up” appears on – used from Sonic Boom.  Happy 1984 pop explosion!

Something New:  I didn’t buy any new-to-me vinyl on this most recent record-shop, but one of my favourite finds of the past month have been the twin sisters that make up Ibeyi.  The video for their song, “River” (embedded below) is beautiful, mesmerizing, and slightly disturbing.  I highly recommend it.  Also, if you have a bit more time to check them out (25 mins), they appeared on the Q last month for a lovely convo with Shad, plus a couple performances.  Check it out here:  http://www.cbc.ca/radio/q/schedule-for-monday-june-22-2015-1.3122387/ibeyi-s-self-titled-debut-is-one-you-need-to-hear-1.3122392

Something Borrowed: Another exciting find the other day was Hip Hop for Respect,a collaboration project put together by Talib Kweli and Mos Def in order to address police brutality in the US, reacting in particular to the 1999 case of Amadou Diallo, a man shot and killed in the Bronx by 4 officers in plainclothes.  The album itself only contains 4 tracks plus instrumentals, but  brings together more than 35 different hip hop artists to create a tight, exciting vibe.  Certainly check the whole thing out, but for something borrowed, we’ll concentrate on the second track, “Protective Custody” which is laid over a sample from KRS-One’s obviously relevant anti-police track, “Who Protects Us From You?”.

Screen Shot 2015-07-28 at 5.42.43 PM

Something Blue:  Until a friend shared this video with me about a week ago, I was unaware of this phenomenal Montreal-dwelling blues guitarist named Cécile Doo-Kingue.  I think that you, like me, will be ever grateful.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Old New Borrowed Blue #5”

  1. Sharlene says :

    “River” is our next water-based music video reenactment.

Leave a Reply

