Old New Borrowed Blue #2: Can Con

CanLeafFlagThis instalment of Old New Borrowed Blue is brought to you by (drumroll please)… Canadian Content!  The Polaris Prize just released their shortlist earlier today (check it out here), and I’ve been inspired to share some music from particularly Canadian artists.  Hope you enjoy these old, new, borrowed, and blue tracks as much as I do!  And if you’re not a fan, please keep with the theme and be polite about it.  😉

Something Old:  I had completely forgotten about Bass is Base – a jazzy R&B group that a decent CanCon radio run in the 90’s – until I saw former member, Chin Injeti open for Erykah Badu last month in Vancouver.  I recognize that only a few people will experience a similar nostalgic rush, but I think it’s worth it.  Also, I promise that I will eventually venture outside the 90’s for this category – I do realize that there is far more to “old” music than the decade of my personal coming-of-age.  For now though, it’s all about 1994 Much Music!

Something New: You may know Sarah Neufeld as that fierce violinist from Arcade Fire, and Colin Stetson from that what-is-that-amazing-and-massive-saxophone? moment at a Bon Iver concert.  Although their collaboration, Never Were The Way She Was, did not actually make the shortlist, I thought their album was one of the biggest longlist standouts.  And there will be enough people writing about the ten Polaris nominees, so I don’t need to talk about who I’m rooting for… just yet, anyway.

Something Borrowed:  In order to make this as Canadian as possible, I’ve decided to go with a K-Os track built on a sample from yet another Canadian artist, Sarah Slean.  I am generally a pretty big fan of hip hop artists sampling unexpected genres, and Joyful Rebellion’s“Love Song” is one of my favourites.

Screen Shot 2015-07-14 at 2.28.23 PM

Something Blue:  I’m going to go super obvious with this one.  Prairie girl, Joni Mitchell is very likely my favourite Canadian singer-songwriter of all time (Sorry, Leonard), and the album, Blue, is nothing short of a classic.  If you have time for a whole record, go check it out.  For now I’ll leave you with the last song on the album which is especially blue and not quite as well known as heavy hitters like the title track, “River” or “A Case of You”. 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Old New Borrowed Blue #2: Can Con”

  1. Emma says :

    I love it! Finding tons of new music… perfect for listening to the full albums at work!

  2. Sharksh says :

    “I do realize that there is far more to “old” music than the decade of my personal coming-of-age.” Haha, fave line. Loved this.

Leave a Reply

