Old New Borrowed Blue #1

Writing about albums – especially great ones – can be intimidating and overwhelming. It may be a poor excuse, but it’s because of this that I have become a terribly sparse and inconsistent blogger.  I still hope to write longer posts on albums sometimes, but for the next while, I’m planning to focus on tackling a little less content a little more frequently (on a weekly basis).  It’s called “Old New Borrowed Blue”, because like the bridal superstition, I’ll make sure each post has one thing that fits into each category.  Here’s how I’ll break it down.

Something Old: A throwback track, whatever I happen to be listening to that week.

This week, for example, after catching up on the 2015 BET awards performances I was on a 90’s Bad Boy kick.  Here’s a track I would have loved to hear in their 20th anniversary medley:

Something New: A new-to-me music discovery.  Like this relatively new Icona Pop single that puts a twist in my hips.

Something Borrowed: I’ll pick a song that heavily borrows (using samples, quotes, or style) from another specific song, and post them both.  Kendrick Lamar was successful in introducing me to the Denmark Electronica collective, The Boom Clap Bachelors with this sample.  You can listen to both songs on WhoSampled.com.

Screen Shot 2015-07-13 at 8.56.15 PM

Something Blue might be up for some interpretive freedom.  I know that I am likely to share a lot of fun, danceable stuff in the first couple of categories, so this will help me balance them off with some music with more serious themes.  I’m going to stick with King Kendrick a bit longer and post his video for “Alright”.  The song is not completely blue – it’s actually one of the most hopeful tracks from To Pimp A Butterfly.  The music video/short film directed by Colin Tilley however, tackles more than just the single, and faces a whole lot of truth about racism, violence and police brutality.  The images are stunning, and if you haven’t seen this yet, I’m depriving you of your last excuse.

DJBooth systematically breaks down the imagery in the video if you can’t get enough of it.

Check back here Thursdays for the next Old New Borrowed Blue post!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Old New Borrowed Blue #1”

  1. Sharlene says :

    Yayy I love this! More later on how much I love this.

Leave a Reply

